Skip to main content

2023 Spirit Awards Nominees and Finalists

Another year goes by and the incredible support within our community continues to amaze. 

Earlier this year, we asked for nominations of volunteers making great impact in our community and received almost 40 nominations across 6 categories. Every nomination made the job of the advisory committee especially hard to select three finalists and one winner of each category. 

Please join us in thanking these bright stars that lift our community one volunteer hour at a time! Together with Kohler, United Way will host the 7th annual Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteerism Awards on April 27th from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at The American Club. Tickets are available to nominees first and then will open to the public on Friday, March 31st.

Thank you to all the bright stars listed below for sharing your time, talent, and treasure to support the work of local nonprofits serving our community every day!

**UPDATE: Winners added below. Thank you to all those that joined us for the event! Here is a copy of the event program. 

Youth Volunteer Star – Honors an individual volunteer, under the age of 18, that embodies the spirit of giving.

Christ Child Academy 6th, 7th, 8th grade students*

Duo of Abbey and Lilly Reinl (sisters)*

Rebecca Shvartsman

Oostburg High School Service Club*


Group/Team Volunteers of the Year – Honors a group/team of two or more people that volunteer together on the same project under a group/team name.

Countryside Best Place to Work team

Dogs 2 Dog Tags*

Great Marriages Mentor Couples

Lakeshore United FC Top Soccer Program*

Sargento Interns and Co-ops

Sheboygan Jaycees*

Outstanding Volunteer Board of Directors – Honors a nonprofit board that has shown exceptional leadership in driving a nonprofit organization.

Dogs 2 Dog Tags

Family Connections/Rainbow Kids Board Members*

Grace Episcopal Church - Vestry

Meals On Wheels Board of Directors*

Friends of Uptown Social Board of Directors

Weill Center Foundation Board of Directors*


Community Spirit Award – Honors a corporation that has made a substantial impact in the community by encouraging the spirit of giving to their employees by promoting volunteer opportunities to their employees, engaging in volunteer activities and/or providing paid time for employees to volunteer.

Johnsonville, LLC

Kohler Stewardship

Lakeshore Community Health Care*


Wigwam Mills*

Yoga on the Lake


Volunteer of the Year – Honors an individual volunteer that embodies the spirit of giving.

Sandra Gibson

Carol Dussault*

Kathy Mertes

Roberta Meyer*

Teresa Neer

Shawn Oldenhoff

Melissa Para

Meg Peterson*

Shannon Shaurette


Lifetime Achievement Award – Honors an individual volunteer who has exhibited a lifelong commitment to volunteerism and community stewardship.

Jessica Ambelang

Eleanor Jung*

Dennis Ketterman*

Beth Rauwerdink*

Paul Rendall

Jenna Van Der Sande


Congratulations to all nominees. Join us on April 27th for the announcement of the winners!

Click here for last year's winners!